Before the Board of County Commissioners Martin County, Florida

A Proclamation

Declaring Earth Day in Martin County

- **Whereas**, April 22, 2025 marks Earth Day, a global observance highlighting the need to protect the Earth's ecosystems, which span 510 million square kilometers and support millions of species; and
- **Whereas**, Martin County encompasses a diverse landscape of coastal waters, estuaries and uplands, including the Indian River Lagoon, one of North America's most biodiverse estuaries, hosting over 4,000 plant and animal species; and
- **Whereas,** Martin County's environmental features, including more than 20,000 acres of protected parks, 22 miles of public beaches and the St. Lucie Inlet, provide critical habitats for endangered species like sawfish and manatees, as well as the green sea turtle, with over 1,000 nests recorded annually; and
- **Whereas**, human activities, such as coastal development, stormwater runoff and pollution, contribute to ecosystem harm, habitat loss and water quality decline; and

Earth Day provides an opportunity to celebrate Martin County's commitment to green initiatives, such as expanding stormwater treatment areas, promoting native plantings and fostering community engagement in conservation, reinforcing our role as leaders in environmental responsibility within the Sunshine State; and

Whereas, sustained efforts by residents and organizations can preserve these resources, ensuring their ecological and economic value—estimated at \$3.5 billion annually from tourism and fisheries—endures for future generations.

Now, therefore, be it proclaimed by the Martin County Board of County Commissioners, at the urging of the Florida Oceanographic Society, that April 22, 2025 is Earth Day in Martin County, Florida. Further, the Board encourages residents to protect and restore the health of our planet.

Presented this Twenty-second Day of April 2025

ATTEST:

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

CAROLYN TIMMANN, CLERK OF THE CIRCUIT COURT AND COMPTROLLER

EDWARD V. CIAMPI, VICE CHAIR

SARAH HEARD, CHAIR

EILEEN VARGAS, COMMISSIONER

STACEY HETHERINGTON, COMMISSIONER

J. BLAKE CAPPS, COMMISSIONER