Drug and Alcohol Abuse Awareness Committee

Amended Pursuant to Resolution No. 21-8.1

Powers & Duties:

The Drug and Alcohol Abuse Awareness Committee shall serve as an advisory committee to the Board of County Commissioners on issues relating to adult and youth substance and alcohol abuse in Martin County. The Committee will make recommendations on programs and services that impact the community.

How Appointed:

The Drug and Alcohol Awareness Committee shall be comprised of 13 members, each representing one of the following categories:

- 1. City of Stuart
- 2. Clerk of the Circuit Court
- 3. Martin County Board of County Commissioners
- 4. Public Defender's Office
- 5. Martin County School Board
- 6. Martin County Sheriff's Office/Jail
- 7. State Attorney's Office
- 8. Town of Jupiter Island
- 9. Town of Sewall's Point
- 10. Treatment Representative
- 11. Circuit Court Judge 19th Judicial Circuit (non-voting)
- 12. Two (2) Private Citizens Resident of Martin County
- 13. Youth member (non-voting)

All members shall serve without compensation. Any committee member may be removed or replaced at any time by the Board of County Commissioners for conduct detrimental to the committee's intent.

Terms:

All members shall be appointed for three-year terms which shall be staggered. For the initial appointment, the member filling categories 1 through 3 will serve for one year; the members filling categories 4 through 6 will serve for two years; and the members filling categories 7 through 10 will serve for three years.

The Board of County Commissioners shall fill any vacancy for an unexpired term. All appointments are made by the Board of County Commissioners.

Failure to attend three consecutive meetings is grounds for automatic removal from the committee.

Meetings: Meetings are held quarterly.

Staff Liaison: Michelle Miller, Human Services Manager

| Member | Position | Appointed | Term End |
|-------------------|----------------------------|------------|------------|
| Lt. George McLain | City of Stuart | 01/24/2023 | 01/06/2024 |
| Heather Rothe | Clerk of the Circuit Court | 01/24/2023 | 01/06/2024 |

| Michelle Miller | BCC | 01/07/2020 | 01/06/2024 |
|----------------------------------|------------------------------------|--------------|------------|
| Robert Bruton | Public Defender's Office | 01/07/2020 | 01/06/2024 |
| Theresa Iuliucci | School Board | 01/11/2022 | 01/10/2025 |
| Mykel Q. McMurren Sr. | Sheriff's Office/Jail | 07/12/2022 | 01/10/2025 |
| Nita G. Denton | State Attorney's Office | 08/24/2021 | 01/10/2025 |
| Corp. Matthew Potsko | Town of Jupiter Island | 01/07/2020 | 01/10/2025 |
| Joseph Sabol | Town of Sewall's Point | 01/07/2023 | 01/06/2026 |
| Angieszka Marshall | Treatment Representative - resigne | ed01/07/2020 | 01/06/2026 |
| Chief Judge Charles A. Schwab | Circuit Court Judge (non-voting) | 09/14/2021 | 01/06/2026 |
| Robin Huebner | Private Citizen | 01/24/2023 | 01/23/2026 |
| Mike Anthony | Private Citizen | 08/24/2021 | 01/06/2026 |
| Sophia Norris | Youth (non-voting) | 11/15/2022 | 01/10/2025 |
| Brian J. Grien | Youth (non-voting) | 11/15/2022 | 01/10/2025 |

This document may be reproduced upon request in an alternative format by contacting the County ADA Coordinator (772) 320-3131, the County Administration Office (772) 288-5400, Florida Relay 711, or by completing our accessibility feedback form at <u>www.martin.fl.us/accessibility-feedback</u>.