

Advocacy

The Presidential Select Committee on Broadband is focused on eliminating the Digital Divide in Florida by implementing a comprehensive approach to deliver high-speed, reliable, and affordable Broadband Internet to all Floridians. The Select Committee will coordinate FAC's ACCESS 67 Initiative to:

- Advocate for the adoption, as well as, the implementation of state and federal policies
 that contribute to the development of solutions that address the lack of ACCESS in our
 local communities.
- Collaborate with key stakeholders who share a common goal in developing solutions to address the lack of ACCESS in our local communities.
- **Educate** our members with local solutions by sharing best practices among Florida's counties and similar communities and organizations from around the country.

Presidential Select Committee on Broadband Members

- Chair Larry Harvey (Putnam)
- Vice Chair Greg Weiss(Palm Beach)
- Terry Burroughs (Okeechobee)
- Ken Cornell (Alachua)
- Kimblin NeSmith (Gadsden)
- Susan Adams (Indian River)

- Ron Moore (Madison)
- Eileen Higgins (Miami-Dade)
- Viviana Janer (Osceola)
- Charlie Justice (Pinellas)
- Tray Hawkins (Washington)

Establishing an ACCESS 67 County Champion

- Each BOCC chair should designate a commissioner to be the lead county contact for matters related to the Presidential Select Committee on Broadband and ACCESS 67 Broadband Initiative.
- **County Champions** should have support through a designated county staff person that will assist the county in matters related to the ACCESS 67 Broadband Initiative
- FAC will keep a communication network consisting of the designated *County* Champions and the supporting staff person to facilitate collaboration with stakeholders